Ronaldo Finished Sixth While Messi Wins Historic Seventh Award

Ballon d’Or:

Cristiano Ronaldo has finished in the top three since the 2007 Ballon d’Or, except 2010 and only came sixth this year.

Cristiano Ronaldo has lost his bid to win more Ballon d’Or than his rival Lionel Messi, winning the historic seventh prize in Argentina for the sixth time.

The Portuguese striker, who did not attend the ceremony in Paris on Monday, joined the then-runner-up Barcelona, ​​who was not included in the top three since 2010. – Companions Andres Iniesta and Xavi.

Ronaldo scored 30 goals at club level for Juventus and Manchester United in 2021, becoming the all time leading goalscorer in intenational football.

PSG, 36, had finished PSG duo Gianluigi Donnarumma and Kylian Mbappe. He is ahead of Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne and Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah.

Salah and Mbappe surpassed Ronaldo at club level this calendar year to score 32 and 37 goals in all competitions, but finished seventh and ninth, respectively.

Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante and Real Madrid center-back Karim Benzema are fifth and fourth, respectively, with former Ronaldo team-mate Ronaldo scoring 34 goals in all competitions and 12 assists for Los Blancos.

Jorgenho, who won the European Cup with Italy and the Champions League with Chelsea, is in the top three behind Messi and Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski.

Lewandowski was previously a popular figure, partially breaking Gerd Muller’s 40-month record of 40 goals in a single Bundesliga season and scoring 53 goals in 2021.

The Polish striker is expected to win the award in 2020 before being eliminated by the Coronavirus.

List of top 10 players expected for Ballon d’Or.

1. Lionel Messi (PSG and Argentina)
2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)
3. Jorginho (Chelsea and Italy)
4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and France)
5. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea and France)
6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Man United and Portugal)
7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)
8. Kevin De Bruyne (Man City and Belgium)
9. Kylian Mbappe (PSG and France)
10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG and Italy)


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *